Commemorating the 50th anniversary of the death of Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

The Observatoire interdisciplinaire de creation et de recherche en musique (OICRM) is organizing an international conference, under the auspices of activities generated by the Équipe musique en France XIXe-XXe siècles: Discours et idéologies (ÉMF).

Igor Stravinsky’s musical trajectory was closely tied to France: the country where his career took off with the Ballets russes, the cultural space that served as a resonator spreading his fame around the world, the ground on which he established his residence intermittently, and then permanently, before his departure for California. The composer’s œuvre lies at the heart of stylistic, aesthetic and cultural developments in French music that took place during the first third of the twentieth century such as the explosion of primitivism, the violent shock of the avant-garde, and the return to order of neoclassicism.  Beyond this, his presence remained palpable for the rest of the century, though in a more tangential way, with his much-noted and very personal turn to serialism, and after his death with a perceptible influence on new trends. Because of this, Stravinsky’s work and personality constitute one of the cornerstones of French music in the twentieth century, difficult to ignore when one reflects upon key figures in musical life of this period such as Debussy, Satie, Ravel, Boulanger, Milhaud, Poulenc, Monteux, Messiaen, Boulez, Boucourechliev, or those in a broader artistic sphere such as Nijinski, Chanel, Cocteau, Picasso, Gide, Massine, Valéry or Balanchine.

Organizing Comittee

François de Médicis
professeur titulaire, Faculté de musique, Université de Montréal

Danick Trottier
Professeur agrégé, Département de musique, Université du Québec à Montréal

Scientific Comittee

Yves Balmer (CNSMDP)
Jonathan Cross (Oxford)
Michel Duchesneau (UdeM)
Valérie Dufour (ULB)
Marina Frolova-Walker (Cambridge)
Steven Huebner (McGill)
Hervé Lacombe (Rennes 2)
Tamara Levitz (UCLA)
Massimiliano Locanto (Salerno)
Mark McFarland (Georgia)
François de Médicis (UdeM)
Simon Morrison (Princeton)
Dorothea Redepenning (Heidelberg)
Svetlana Savenko (Moscou)
Danick Trottier (UQAM)